Support of KIT Bodies

Below you will find all information about the KIT bodies as well as the forms for the Executive Board meetings (PS and PS+).

Contact: Support of KIT Bodies (SEK-GB)

Senatssaal KIT

Supervisory Board of KIT

The Supervisory Board monitors the development and profiling of KIT and ensures framework conditions that enhance the performance and competitiveness of KIT. Among other things, it elects the full-time members of the Executive Board and decides on the structural and development plan as well as the constructional development plan. The KIT Supervisory Board consists of eleven members and meets three times a year.

Verena Wittmann

Executive Board Meeting PS and PS+

The Executive Board manages the KIT collegially according to the departmental principle. It is responsible for the fulfillment of the mission and the strategic orientation of KIT vis-à-vis the Supervisory Board, politics, administration, economy, and society. Among other things, it is responsible for appointments, the economic and financial plan, and the allocation of funds to the departments for the institutes as well as for administration and infrastructure. The Executive Board consists of six members and meets fortnightly in the Executive Board Meeting (PS) and passes resolutions. In fortnightly rotation, the Executive Board meets together with the Division Heads in the Executive Board-Plus-Meeting (PS+). The serves as a discussion forum to prepare decisions.



M. A. Anastasia Ludwig

KIT Senate

The KIT Senate acts as an internal parliament. According to the KIT Act, it advises the other bodies and decides on matters of research, teaching, studies, and further education. Among other things, it confirms the election of the full-time members of the KIT Executive Board and comments on the structural and development plan of KIT. As a rule, the monthly meetings are not open to the public. The KIT Senate (intranet only) is composed of elected members and members by virtue of office. Currently, these are 28 members each from the major research area and the university area - including the KIT Deans -, the Executive Board members, and one representative each from Equal Opportunities and the Staff Council.


Jennifer Gilhaus

Head of Division Roundtable

The KIT Divisions are organized in disciplinary terms and combine research, teaching, and innovation of the institutes, KIT Departments, and Helmholtz programs assigned to them. KIT is divided into the five divisions "I: Biology, Chemistry, and Process Engineering", "II: Informatics, Economics, and Society", "III: Mechanical and Electrical Engineering", "IV: Natural and Built Environment", and "V: Physics and Mathematics". Each division is headed by a division head who is assisted by a division council. The Head of Division Roundtable consists of five members and meets fortnightly. It serves as a planning and discussion forum to prepare for division-wide decisions.


N. N.

Science policy committees and networks

The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology is involved in various higher education policy committees and networks at state and national level, such as the State Rectors' Conference (LRK), the German Rectors' Conference (HRK) and TU9. These networks organise a representation of interests vis-à-vis politics, coordinate between the member universities and carry out joint activities and events. The networks are usually steered by committees and meetings in which each higher education institution is represented at management level.

Download der Formulare für Präsidiumssitzungen (nur im Intranet)