Rankings and distribution of funds

University rankings evaluate universities according to various criteria in research and teaching and enable a comparison at national and international level. International rankings are also becoming increasingly important in the German higher education landscape, whether for partnership negotiations, student marketing, third-party funding acquisition or staff recruitment. However, rankings are also often the subject of controversial discussions; it is precisely the sometimes opaque methodology or the attempt to evaluate universities in their entirety that leads to criticism.

The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology participates in various university rankings at specified intervals. Among the most important international rankings are the World University Rankings of Times Higher Education (THE) and Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) as well as the Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) and Shanghai Ranking.

Jahresbericht 2015 KIT

Rankings

Rankings are an important source of information for pupils (especially high school graduates), students, employers, ministries and other interested parties and are becoming increasingly important in external presentation.
The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology participates in various university rankings at specified intervals. KIT is evaluated in research and teaching on the basis of different criteria.

Some rankings in which KIT is represented:

  • CHE (Center for Higher Education Development)
  • THE (Times Higher Education)
  • WIWO (Business Week)
  • ARWU (Academic Ranking of World Universities/ Shanghai Ranking)
  • NTU-Ranking
  • QS-Ranking

SEK-SCR's task is to coordinate the data collection, to check and plausibilize the data and to pass it on to the agencies. Furthermore, the ranking results are analyzed and prepared for the information of the KIT committees.

Allocation of funds

SEK-SCR coordinates the allocations of funds to the KIT Departments. The following budgets are distributed:

  • KIT Qualipakt funds (including "Student Quality Assurance Funds").
  • Teaching budget
  • KIT Department budget
  • Funds of the "University 2012" and "Master 2016" expansion plans

Recipients are in particular the KIT Departments in the areas. The funds are distributed via a model that takes into account various indicators (students, personnel, teaching links between KIT Departments). Parts of the KIT-Qualipakt funds are also distributed to central service units via an application procedure.

Strategy Fund

The Strategy Fund supports measures that provide strategic impetus in research, teaching and innovation. A selection procedure is carried out for this purpose (usually annually). SEK-SCR is responsible for coordinating the procedure, controlling and reporting on the Strategy Fund.

Selection results Strategy Fund (internal)

Measures 2018

Strategische Entwicklung und Kommunikation

Rankings und Mittelverteilung

Hochschulrankings bewerten Universitäten nach verschiedenen Kriterien in Forschung und Lehre und ermöglichen einen Vergleich auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Dabei gewinnen internationale Rankings auch in der deutschen Hochschullandschaft stetig an Bedeutung, sei es für Partnerschaftsverhandlungen, Studierendenmarketing, Drittmitteleinwerbung oder Personalrekrutierung. Rankings werden aber auch oft kontrovers diskutiert, gerade die teilweise undurchsichtige Methodologie oder der Versuch, Universitäten in ihrer Gesamtheit zu bewerten, führen zu Kritik.

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie nimmt in vorgegebenen Zeitabständen an unterschiedlichen Hochschulrankings teil. Zu den international bedeutendsten Rankings gehören die World University Rankings des Times Higher Education (THE) und Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) sowie das Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) bzw. Shanghai Ranking.

Aufkleber mit Smiley

Rankings

Rankings sind eine wichtige Informationsquelle für Schüler (besonders Abiturienten), Studierende, Arbeitgeber, Ministerien und andere Interessierte und gewinnen in der Außendarstellung eine immer größere Bedeutung.
Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie nimmt in vorgegebenen Zeitabständen an unterschiedlichen Hochschulrankings teil. Hierbei wird das KIT in Forschung und Lehre anhand von unterschiedlichen Kriterien bewertet.

Einige Rankings, bei denen KIT vertreten ist:

  • CHE (Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung)
  • THE (Times Higher Education)
  • WIWO (Wirtschaftswoche)
  • ARWU (Academic Ranking of World Universities/ Shanghai Ranking)
  • NTU-Ranking
  • QS-Ranking

SEK-SCR hat zur Aufgabe, die Datenerhebung zu koordinieren, Daten zu prüfen und zu plausibilisieren sowie an die Agenturen weiterzugeben. Weiterhin werden die Rankingergebnisse analysiert und für die Information der Gremien des KIT aufbereitet.

Mittelverteilung

Die Abteilung SEK-SCR koordiniert die Mittelverteilung an die KIT-Fakultäten. Verteilt werden folgende Budgets:

  • Mittel des KIT-Qualipakts (einschl. der "Studentischen Qualitätssicherungsmittel")
  • Lehrbudget
  • KIT-Fakultätsbudget
  • Mittel der Ausbauplanung "Hochschule 2012" und "Master 2016"

Empfänger sind insbesondere die KIT-Fakultäten in den Bereichen. Verteilt werden die Mittel über ein Modell, in das verschiedene Indikatoren einfließen (Studierende, Personal, Lehrverflechtung zwischen den KIT-Fakultäten). Teile der KIT-Qualipakt-Mittel werden über ein Antragsverfahren auch an zentrale Dienstleistungseinheiten verteilt.

Strategiefonds

Mit dem Strategiefonds werden Maßnahmen gefördert, die strategische Impulse in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation setzen. Hierzu wird ein Auswahlverfahren durchgeführt (i.d.R. jährlich). Die Abteilung SEK-SCR verantwortet die Koordination des Verfahrens, das Controlling und das Berichtswesen zum Strategiefonds.

Auswahlergebnisse Strategiefonds (intern)

Maßnahmen 2018

Strategiefonds

Mit dem Strategiefonds werden Maßnahmen gefördert, die strategische Impulse in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation setzen. Hierzu wird ein Auswahlverfahren durchgeführt (i.d.R. jährlich). Die Abteilung SEK-SCR verantwortet die Koordination des Verfahrens, das Controlling und das Berichtswesen zum Strategiefonds.

Auswahlergebnisse Strategiefonds (intern)

Maßnahmen 2018