deutsch  | Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Monika Landgraf

Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

KIT at the CEBIT 2018

At their joint booth at CEBIT in Hanover (Hall 27, booth G52) from June 12 to 15, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and FZI Research Center for Information Technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology will showcase an assistant robot for the industry that can learn to use tools by watching its human colleagues, a test center for autonomous driving, an electronic wallet that cannot be cracked by data thieves, a certification system for reliable cloud services, and other highly exciting research and startup projects.

Press release about the CEBIT

ARMAR Assistant Robot: Number 6 is Learning

Assistenz-Roboter ARMAR 6
The ARMAR-6 assistant robot can acquire new skills, support users and pass tools by observation alone. (Photo: KIT/Laila Tkotz)

It’s normal for robots to be used in factories and warehouses these days. They carry out a variety of tasks such as picking, welding and assembling. But they are mostly specialized to perform a specific task and are separated from people by cages or barriers. ARMAR-6, however, can work together directly with its human colleagues. The youngest member in the family of humanoid robots based at KIT does not focus on a specific activity but can, for example, learn how to use new tools by observing people.

With its arms resembling human limbs, ARMAR-6 can literally give its colleagues a hand with a hammer or drill, pass them tools or assist in any other way. This works not only with a few preprogrammed tools; thanks to its artificial intelligence, the robotic aid is able to continuously improve its capabilities – through observation, linguistic instruction or from its own experience. That means that without additional programming it can be used in a variety of environments and can support people in their difficult and highly stressful tasks.

Developed at KIT’s Institute for Anthropomatics and Robotics, number 6 in the ARMAR series uses five cameras in its head and laser sensors in its mobile platform to find its way around. Capable of lifting a weight of about 10 kilograms even with an outstretched arm, it is equipped with torque sensors in the arm joints to ensure that it uses its power so carefully and reliably that it can safely work together with people. Being a true assistant, ARMAR-6 is able to recognize when someone needs help and offers it to them – some-thing that will be demonstrated at CEBIT.
 

Further information

Data sheet ARMAR 6


Virtual Experience – Baden-Württemberg Test Center for Autonomous Driving

The FZI Research Center for Information Technology at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology will showcase a demonstrator which brings to life application scenarios of the Baden-Württemberg Test Center for Autonomous Driving (TAF BW) for visitors to the fair.

The test center was opened on May 3, 2018. There, companies and research institutions can test future-oriented technologies and ser-vices related to connected and automated driving in everyday traf-fic. However, not only automated driving of cars can be tested in the test center; buses, street cleaning vehicles and delivery services also have the option of developing future-oriented mobility for commercial vehicles. To achieve this, different kinds of traffic set-ups have been prepared and sensors for capturing traffic and its various factors in real time have been installed.
 

Further information

https://taf-bw.de/en

PriPay: Secure and Anonymous Virtual Wallet

Whether we make cashless payments when shopping, accumulate loyalty points in supermarkets or book electronic tickets for public transport, we leave a wide range of information in all of these trans-actions and a clearly visible invitation for data hunters to follow our trail. Researchers at KIT have now developed PriPay, a payment system protecting people’s privacy which can be used to make payments and loyalty point transactions completely securely and anonymously. The virtual wallet is managed on the user’s actual device. Thanks to randomization, not even the system operator knows the current balance; nevertheless, before a transaction takes place the balance is guaranteed to be sufficient. The fact that the transactions are hidden means that tracking is avoided from the start. Conversely, double-spending detection prevents users from spending more than is available in the account. And: the system works even without a permanent network connection. An application scenario using a canteen system at the CeBIT booth will demonstrate that PriPay is efficient and ready.
 

Further information

Data sheet PriPay

AUDITOR: Reliable Certification of Cloud Services

Holiday photos, music collections, customer files, and even business-critical databases – the number of private people and companies using cloud services is constantly growing. Finding a trusted cloud service provider, or conversely, convincing potential customers of the reliability of your own cloud offering, is difficult in this vast market. The AUDITOR research project coordinated by KIT aims to provide a solution with Europe-wide data protection certification of cloud services based on the new EU General Data Protection Regulation. Another aim is to improve the comparability of cloud services offered by companies from different EU member states. The criteria catalog is available to view at booth E06 in Hall 16 at CEBIT.

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin
Monika Landgraf

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Informationen zum KIT

Homepage des KIT

Flyer "Daten, Zahlen, Fakten"

Das KIT auf Facebook und Twitter:

 

Das KIT auf der CEBIT 2018

Ein Assistenz-Roboter für die Industrie, der sich den Gebrauch von Werkzeugen bei seinen menschlichen Kollegen abschauen kann, ein Testfeld für autonomes Fahren, eine für Datendiebe unknackbare elektronische Geldbörse, ein Zertifizierungssystem für verlässliche Cloud-Dienste und weitere hoch spannende Forschung- und Gründerprojekte zeigen das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und das FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie vom 12. bis 15. Juni bei ihrem gemeinsamen CEBIT-Auftritt in Hannover (Halle 27, Stand G52).

Presseinformation zur CEBIT

 

Assistenz-Roboter ARMAR: Nummer 6 lernt

Assistenz-Roboter ARMAR 6
Der Assistenz-Roboter ARMAR 6 kann allein durch Beobachtung neue Fähigkeiten erwerben, Nutzer unterstützen und etwa Werkzeug reichen. (Bild:KIT/Laila Tkotz)

Dass Roboter in Fabrik- und Lagerhallen eingesetzt werden, ist Alltag. Sie erfüllen dort vielfältige Aufgaben wie Kommissionieren, Schweißen oder Montieren. Doch sind sie meist auf eine ganz spezifische Aufgabe spezialisiert und arbeiten durch Käfige oder Absperrungen getrennt vom Menschen. ARMAR-6 hingegen kann direkt mit seinen menschlichen Kollegen zusammenarbeiten. Das jüngste Mitglied der am KIT beheimateten Familie humanoider Roboter ist dazu nicht auf eine bestimmte Betätigung festgelegt, sondern kann durch Beobachtung des Menschen zum Beispiel den Gebrauch neuer Werkzeuge selbst erlernen.

Mit seinen menschlichen Gliedmaßen ähnelnden Armen kann ARMAR-6 seinen Kollegen mit Hammer oder Bohrmaschine buchstäblich zur Hand gehen, ihnen die Gerätschaften anreichen oder sonst wie assistieren. Das funktioniert nicht nur mit wenigen vorprogrammierten Arbeitsgeräten, denn dank seiner künstlichen Intelligenz ist der Robo-Helfer in der Lage, seine Fähigkeiten kontinuierlich zu verbessern, durch Beobachtung, sprachliche Anweisung oder aus eigener Erfahrung. So kann er ohne zusätzlichen Programmieraufwand in unterschiedlichsten Umgebungen eingesetzt werden und Menschen bei schwierigen oder stark belastenden Arbeiten unterstützen.

In seiner Umgebung zurecht findet sich die am Institut für Anthropomatik und Robotik des KIT entwickelte Nummer 6 der ARMAR-Reihe mittels 5 Kameras im Kopf und Lasersensoren in seiner mobilen Plattform. Drehmomentsensoren in den Armgelenken sorgen dafür, dass er seine Kraft, die es ihm ermöglicht, selbst mit ausgestrecktem Arm ein Gewicht von über 10 Kilogramm anzuheben, so feinfühlig und sicher einsetzt, dass er gefahrlos mit Menschen zusammenarbeiten kann. Als echter Assistent kann ARMAR-6 erkennen, wann ein Mensch Hilfe benötigt und diese proaktiv anbieten, wie er auf der CEBIT demonstriert.
 

Weitere Informationen

Datenblatt ARMAR 6

 

 


Testfeld Autonomes Fahren Baden-Württemberg: Das Testfeld virtuell erleben

Das Testfeld wurde am 3. Mai 2018 eröffnet. Dort können Unternehmen sowie Forschungseinrichtungen zukunftsorientierte Technologien und Dienstleistungen rund um das vernetzte und automatisierte Fahren im alltäglichen Straßenverkehr erproben. Doch nicht nur das automatisierte Fahren von PKWs kann auf dem Testfeld erprobt werden, auch Busse, Straßenreinigungsfahrzeuge oder Zustelldienste haben die Möglichkeit, zukunftsorientierte Mobilität für Nutzfahrzeuge auf dem Testfeld weiterzuentwickeln. Dafür wurden in der Aufbauphase unter anderem Verkehrsflächen unterschiedlichster Art vorbereitet und Sensoren zur Echtzeiterfassung des Verkehrs und dessen Einflussfaktoren installiert.

 

Weitere Informationen

https://taf-bw.de

PriPay: Sichere und anonyme virtuelle Geldbörse

Ob wir beim Einkauf bargeldlos zahlen, im Supermarkt Treuepunkte anhäufen oder elektronische Tickets im Nahverkehr buchen, bei all diesen Geschäften hinterlassen wir eine breite Informationsspur. Eine weithin sichtbare Einladung für Datenjäger, unserer Fährte zu Folgen. Mit PriPay haben Forscher des KIT jetzt ein privatsphärenschützendes Zahlungssystem entwickelt, mit dem sich Zahlungen und Punkt-Transaktionen völlig sicher und gänzlich anonym abwickeln lassen. Die virtuelle Geldbörse wird auf dem jeweiligen Gerät des Nutzers verwaltet. Durch Randomisierung kennt nicht einmal der Operator des Systems dessen aktuellen Punktestand, trotzdem kann vor einem Bezahlvorgang garantiert werden, dass der jeweilige Kontostand dafür ausreicht. Dadurch dass die Transaktionen verdeckt ablaufen, wird Tracking schon im Ansatz verhindert. Andererseits verhindert eine Double-Spending-Detection, dass Nutzer unentdeckt mehr ausgeben als auf dem Konto ist. Und: Das System funktioniert auch ohne ständige Netzverbindung. Dass PriPay effizient und einsatzfähig ist, wird am Stand auf der CeBIT mit dem Anwendungsszenario eines Kantinensystems demonstriert.
 

Weitere Informationen

Datenblatt PriPay

AUDITOR: verlässliche Zertifizierung von Cloud-Diensten

Urlaubsfotos, die Musiksammlung, Kundendateien, sogar geschäftskritische Datenbanken – die Zahl der Privatleute und Unternehmen, die Cloud-Dienste nutzen, wächst unentwegt. Einen vertrauenswürdigen Cloud-Service-Anbieter zu finden oder umgekehrt, potentielle Kunden von der Seriosität des eigenen Cloud-Angebots zu überzeugen, ist in dem unüberschaubaren Markt schwierig. Das vom KIT koordinierte Forschungsprojekt AUDITOR will hier mit einer europaweiten Datenschutzzertifizierung von Cloud-Diensten auf Basis der neuen EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung Abhilfe schaffen. Ziel ist außerdem, die Vergleichbarkeit von Cloud-Diensten, die Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten anbieten, zu verbessern. Einblicke etwa in den Kriterienkatalog gibt es am Stand E06 in Halle 16 der CEBIT.

Weiterführend:
Campus Report vom 05.06.2018, "TÜV-Plakette für Cloud-Dienste" (Audiofile)
Presseinformation 051/2018, "Datenschutz: Cloud-Dienste europaweit zertifizieren"