Controlling and Reporting

KIT

The Strategic Controlling and Reporting Department (SEK-SCR) supports the Executive Board - but also other decision makers - in developing and implementing the strategy of KIT as well as in preparing targeted decisions. For this purpose, various instruments are made available to the KIT management, e.g. reports, analyses, and planning calculations. Furthermore, SEK-SCR takes over diverse tasks of internal and external reporting and its quality assurance.

Capacity calculation

SEK-SCR calculates the number of study places for admission-restricted degree programmes for each academic year. The principle applies that the available capacities must be fully utilised, taking into account the spatial and, above all, the human resources. This is the purpose of the capacity calculation.

The enrolment capacity is calculated on the basis of the number of teaching staff and by applying curricular values (CW). The CW designates the required teaching effort for one student in a course of study and is specified within a certain range in the state of Baden-Württemberg.

The determination of the CW by the department is done in coordination with the KIT Departments, the KIT Executive Board and the KIT Senate.

Downloads (only on the intranet):


Distribution of funds

SEK-SCR coordinates the distribution of funds to the KIT faculties. The following budgets are distributed:

  • KIT Qualipakt funds (including "Student Quality Assurance Funds").
  • Teaching budget
  • KIT faculty budget
  • Funds of the "University 2012" and "Master 2016" expansion plans

Recipients are in particular the KIT Departments in the areas. The funds are distributed via a model that takes into account various indicators (students, personnel, teaching links between KIT Departments). Parts of the KIT-Qualipakt funds are also distributed to central service units via an application procedure.

Strategy Fund

The Strategy Fund supports measures that provide strategic impetus in research, teaching and innovation. A selection procedure is carried out for this purpose (usually annually). SEK-SCR is responsible for coordinating the procedure, controlling and reporting on the Strategy Fund.

Selection results Strategy Fund (internal)

Measures 2018

Verwendungsberichte

  • Studiengebühren
  • Qualitätssicherungsmittel
  • KIT-Qualipakt

Data preparation

SEK-SCRprepares information on teaching, studies, research and resources on a regular or ad hoc basis. The data have different internal sources. Partly, the data are determined in the department, partly they are obtained from other departments.

Closely linked to this is the cooperation in the various projects on information management at KIT.

Links

  • KIT - Daten und Zahlen 
  • Studierendenstatistiken 

Rankings

Rankings are an important source of information for pupils (especially high school graduates), students, employers, ministries and other interested parties and are becoming increasingly important in external presentation.
The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology participates in various university rankings at specified intervals. KIT is evaluated in research and teaching on the basis of different criteria.

Some rankings in which KIT is represented:

  • CHE (Center for Higher Education Development)
  • THE (Times Higher Education)
  • WIWO (Business Week)
  • ARWU (Academic Ranking of World Universities/ Shanghai Ranking)
  • NTU-Ranking
  • QS-Ranking

SEK-SCR's task is to coordinate the data collection, to check and plausibilize the data and to pass it on to the agencies. Furthermore, the ranking results are analyzed and prepared for the information of the KIT committees.

Reporting

KIT as "The Research University in the Helmholtz Association" maintains a comprehensive reporting system.

The central task of internal reporting is to provide information for internal control processes. We prepare decision-relevant information on a regular basis or as required and make it available to the Executive Board, committees and other organisational units as a basis for planning and decision-making.

The external reporting system is primarily used for reporting and accountability to the funding bodies. These primarily include the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the Helmholtz Association. Further target groups are cooperation partners from research and industry and the interested public. For quality assurance of reporting, SCR is the central clearing house for external data and report delivery of KIT.

Clearing

SEK-SCR has assumed the function of central clearing. All external data deliveries for reporting purposes are checked by SCR in terms of form and content and released if the result is positive. The basic responsibility for the accuracy of the data and information to be reported remains with the processing institution.

Contact: clearing∂sek.kit.edu.

Clearing information (intranet only).

Strategische Entwicklung und Kommunikation

Controlling und Reporting

Die Abteilung Strategisches Controlling und Reporting (SEK-SCR) unterstützt das Präsidium – aber auch andere Entscheidungsträger – bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung der Strategie des KIT ebenso wie bei der Vorbereitung zielgerichteter Entscheidungen. Zu diesem Zweck werden der Leitung des KIT verschiedene Instrumente zur Verfügung gestellt, z.B. Berichte, Analysen und Planungsrechnungen. Des Weiteren übernimmt SEK-SCR vielfältige Aufgaben des internen und externen Berichtswesens und dessen Qualitätssicherung.

Jahresbericht 2015

Kapazitätsrechnung

Die Abteilung SEK-SCR ermittelt für jedes Studienjahr die Zahl der Studienplätze für zulassungsbeschränkte Studiengänge. Dabei gilt der Grundsatz, dass die vorhandenen Kapazitäten unter Berücksichtigung der räumlichen und vor allem der personellen Ressourcen voll ausgeschöpft werden müssen. Dies nachzuweisen ist Anliegen der Kapazitätsrechnung.

Die Aufnahmekapazität wird auf Basis der personellen Ausstattung mit Lehrpersonal und unter Anwendung von Curricularwerten (CW) berechnet. Der CW bezeichnet den erforderlichen Lehraufwand für einen Studenten/eine Studierende in einem Studiengang und ist im Land Baden-Württemberg innerhalb einer bestimmten Bandbreite vorgegeben.

Die Ermittlung der Zulassungszahlen durch die Abteilung erfolgt in Abstimmung mit den KIT-Fakultäten, dem Präsidium und dem KIT-Senat.

Downloads (nur im Intranet):

 

Mittelverteilung

Die Abteilung SEK-SCR koordiniert die Mittelverteilung an die KIT-Fakultäten. Verteilt werden folgende Budgets:

  • Mittel des KIT-Qualipakts (einschl. der "Studentischen Qualitätssicherungsmittel")
  • Lehrbudget
  • KIT-Fakultätsbudget
  • Mittel der Ausbauplanung "Hochschule 2012" und "Master 2016"

Empfänger sind insbesondere die KIT-Fakultäten in den Bereichen. Verteilt werden die Mittel über ein Modell, in das verschiedene Indikatoren einfließen (Studierende, Personal, Lehrverflechtung zwischen den KIT-Fakultäten). Teile der KIT-Qualipakt-Mittel werden über ein Antragsverfahren auch an zentrale Dienstleistungseinheiten verteilt.

Strategiefonds

Mit dem Strategiefonds werden Maßnahmen gefördert, die strategische Impulse in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation setzen. Hierzu wird ein Auswahlverfahren durchgeführt (i.d.R. jährlich). Die Abteilung SEK-SCR verantwortet die Koordination des Verfahrens, das Controlling und das Berichtswesen zum Strategiefonds.

Auswahlergebnisse Strategiefonds (intern)

Maßnahmen 2018

Datenaufbereitung

Die Abteilung SEK-SCR bereitet regelmäßig oder anlassbezogen Informationen zu Lehre, Studium, Forschung und Ressourcen auf. Die Daten haben unterschiedliche interne Quellen. Teilweise werden die Daten in der Abteilung ermittelt, teilweise aus anderen Fachabteilungen bezogen.

Eng damit verknüpft ist die Mitarbeit in den unterschiedlichen Projekten zum Informationsmanagement am KIT.

Rankings

Rankings sind eine wichtige Informationsquelle für Schüler (besonders Abiturienten), Studierende, Arbeitgeber, Ministerien und andere Interessierte und gewinnen in der Außendarstellung eine immer größere Bedeutung.
Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie nimmt in vorgegebenen Zeitabständen an unterschiedlichen Hochschulrankings teil. Hierbei wird das KIT in Forschung und Lehre anhand von unterschiedlichen Kriterien bewertet.

Einige Rankings, bei denen KIT vertreten ist:

  • CHE (Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung)
  • THE (Times Higher Education)
  • WIWO (Wirtschaftswoche)
  • ARWU (Academic Ranking of World Universities/ Shanghai Ranking)
  • NTU-Ranking
  • QS-Ranking

SEK-SCR hat zur Aufgabe, die Datenerhebung zu koordinieren, Daten zu prüfen und zu plausibilisieren sowie an die Agenturen weiterzugeben. Weiterhin werden die Rankingergebnisse analysiert und für die Information der Gremien des KIT aufbereitet.

Berichtswesen

Das KIT als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ pflegt ein umfangreiches Berichtswesen.

Zentrale Aufgabe des internen Berichtswesens ist die Bereitstellung von Informationen für interne Steuerungsprozesse. Entscheidungsrelevante Informationen bereiten wir regelmäßig oder anlassbezogen auf und stellen sie Präsidium, Gremien und weiteren Organisationseinheiten als Planungs- und Entscheidungsgrundlage zur Verfügung.

Das externe Berichtswesen dient maßgeblich der Berichterstattung und Rechenschaftslegung gegenüber den Zuwendungsgebern. Hierzu zählen in erster Linie das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg, das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Weitere Zielgruppen sind Kooperationspartner aus Forschung und Wirtschaft und die interessierte Öffentlichkeit. Zur Qualitätssicherung des Berichtswesens ist SCR die zentrale Clearingstelle für externe Daten- und Berichtslieferung des KIT.

Dr. Susanne Schedel
Berichtswesen, Struktur- und Entwicklungsplanung

+49 721 608-41133susanne schedelEsi4∂kit edu

Clearing

Die Abteilung SEK-SCR hat die Funktion eines zentralen Clearings übernommen. Alle externen Datenlieferungen zu Berichtszwecken werden formal und inhaltlich durch SCR geprüft und bei positivem Ergebnis freigegeben. Die grundsätzliche Verantwortung über die Richtigkeit der zu berichtenden Daten und Informationen verbleibt bei der bearbeitenden Einrichtung.

Kontakt: clearing∂sek.kit.edu

Informationen zum Clearing (nur im Intranet)